The Challenge of Making Mobile Payments Work at the POS

This weekend I paid with PayPal in the physical store. There are a handful of stores in the UK that now accept PayPal payments, and while I’ve seen the demos, this was my first time to actually go through the process myself. And I have to say, it’s not something I will be looking to experience in a hurry again…

The good news: the payment worked, first time. Which is more than what I can say about my NFC experiment with QuickTap wallet from Orange (EE) and Barclaycard. There, my experience has been very inconsistent – sometimes it works like a dream, other times it doesn’t work at all. The worst is when it’s not even clear if it worked, and at least one of us, either me or the merchant, is left scratching our heads if we ended up short-changed, either by paying cash or card or by assuming the payment did go through. None such problems with PayPal – the payment went through and I got instant acknowledgement of the Transaction.

Read more at Celent

The Challenge of Making Mobile Payments Work at the POS

Leave a Reply

